Flatpack Festival
Film, and then some

Bermingham: The (Not Entirely) True Story of a Misspelt City

Wednesday 1st May, 2019 - Saturday 11th May, 2019

Centrala | See description below

If whilst undertaking research into a city you misspell its name does that give you free reign to ride roughshod over its true history?

Greg McLeod thinks so. In his first solo exhibition, the BAFTA-award winning animator and illustrator attempts to create 1000 illustrations of Birmingham, the city in which he grew up. But all is not quite what it seems… each image has a corresponding title, but you may want to think twice before taking the labels as gospel. Along with his illustrations adorning the walls in Centrala, a new film will play on loop in the gallery - an animated documentary charting the [un]true history of the city. The exhibition will run throughout the festival, but a special opening with DJs Matt and McGill providing the soundtrack will take place on Friday 3 May between 18:00 - 22:00].

Running concurrently with the show at Centrala, is the sister exhibition Bermingham: Remixed at the Parkside Gallery. Taking inspiration from Greg’s illustrations, the exhibition is made up of works by Viscom students at Birmingham City University. Greg’s BAFTA-nominated short Marfa will also play on loop.

**Opening times
Wed 1 May: 11:00 - 18:00
Thurs 2 May: 11:00 - 19:45
Fri 3 May: 11:00 - 22:00
Sat 4 May: 11:00 - 22:30
Sun 5 May: 11:00 - 19:30
Mon 6 May: CLOSED
Tue 7 May: 11:00 - 18:00
Wed 8 May: 11:00 - 18:00
Thurs 9 May: 11:00 - 18:00
Fri 10 May: 11:00 - 18:00
Sat 11 May: 11:00 - 18:00

Join our mailing list

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required